Showing posts with label Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Reviews. Show all posts

Tuesday, March 7, 2017

Teaching Kids To Do the Right Thing and a Giveaway

The beginning of this school year was a little tough for our eldest daughter. She is in first grade and for me..it is her first real school experience. Real school experience because she is at school for a longer time ( as compared to being in T.K. or Kindergarten) , lessons are a bit harder and it is where the kids are in transition. A stage where they just moved on from early childhood but not quite on a big kid stage. It is also a period in child development in which they are still learning how to handle setbacks and self-regulation, and are exploring their boundaries and identities. They are more articulate and able to express their thoughts ( Hello talking back). It is also a stage where they may test their boundaries but at this stage , they do have some knowledge of the difference between right and wrong.

That being said, our daughter experienced this first hand. She had been telling us about a classmate of hers that was not being nice to her. In one instance, she was asked by her classmate to NOT finish her schoolwork. And if she does, she will not be her classmate's friend anymore. She cried and got stressed. Seven year olds are also people pleasers. They want friends to play with! So when she got home, she poured her heart out to me. She got hurt and stressed. having to choose between doing the right thing and having a friend ..even if it would get her in trouble with her teacher.

I asked her what did she do. She said " I did my school work, I did what was asked by my teacher".  Proud moment for me right there. She added , "but she didn't want to be my friend anymore" . With that teaching moment, I told her that being honest and doing the right thing may not gain you a whole lot of friends but it will certainly bring you good ones.



It was probably one of my most memorable talks with her. Now, with our 4 yr. old...teaching her how to do the right thing  is an everyday occurrence in this household. She is the youngest and sometimes unconsciously she gets away with things. One of the great ways we teach certain values to them is through the power of reading.

When I read these two cute books to our 4 yr old, her first thought was..the bunny is very cute. Mine was " wow, beautifully illustrated and sturdy for little hands".  We began reading the first book and her whole attention was on the book. After reading the books, she told me...If I can be like the bunny's mom because she never got mad with the small bunny. Honestly, I didn't know if I will laugh or be bothered by that comment. But just like any other parent, I used that as a teachable moment that telling the truth and doing the right thing is always the best.

This two book teach those values in a fun and engaging way.

About the Books:


In No, No, Bunny , Little Bunny has been taking things that don’t belong to him: pennies from Mama’s purse, a friend’s toy car, and a candy bar from the store. Taking everything seemed like a good decision at the time, but now Little Bunny feels sad. He confesses to his Mama and returns the items to their owners, learning that doing what’s right is always best.


In Uh-Oh, Bunny , finds Little Bunny being a bit careless: drawing on walls, knocking over a plant, tearing pages from a book. When Mama asks him about the messes, Little Bunny chooses to be honest, which makes Mama happy. With Mama’s help, Little Bunny cleans up each mess. Preschoolers will learn, in a gentle, non-didactic way, that telling the truth is always best.

Pages : 16 pages
Ages : 2 to 5 years old
Format : Board book

About the Author:

Pamela Kennedy loves writing for children and has authored more than thirty books of stories, prayers, and devotions. In her spare time she enjoys hiking, playing with her grandchildren, and exploring the beaches of Puget Sound. Pam and her husband currently live in Seattle, Washington. 

About the Illustrator:

Claire Keay lives in an ancient market town in the south of England where she works from her little home studio. After years working as a special education teacher for preschoolers, Keay decided to pursue her love of illustration. She now happily illustrates several children’s books each year, as well as children’s magazines, greeting cards, and stationery. In her spare time, Keay loves to garden, spend time with her teenage sons, and sing in her local community choir.

SOCIAL CORNER:

Worthy Publishing website, SEE HERE.




 G  I  V  E  A  W  A  Y    T  I  M  E

DISCLOSURE: I received one or more of the products/services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it in my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this is in accordance with FTC guidelines.
  



 


Tuesday, February 7, 2017

10 Worship Songs That Lifts Your Spirit

Every person you'll meet and  encounter have different stories. As they say, we all have our own different set of problems. We all handle it differently. We all view problems diversely. Sometimes, we fall into emptiness with reasons that we can't seem to point our fingers at. We all have been there.  Feeling low.  Some may even call it seasonal blues.

When feelings like that slowly creep in, it is hard to function. We loose track of what is important. We lose sight of our goals. If we are not careful we will fall into the deep pit of darkness and bitterness. Our brain is such a powerful part of our body. We become what we think. That is why it is important to not only feed our minds and body. Feeding our heart, mind, body and soul all together is so important.

So how can we feed these four important aspects? I have shared 10 Proven Ways To Be Happy, 
for the seasonal blues. You can read it HERE. One of the things too that I find very effective is listening to worship songs. Our girls love it too! Just watching and hearing them sing moving worship songs, makes my heart happy. In our car, with our daily commute we listen to the radio station 89.7 ksgn . I have about 3 worship playlists on Amazon Music and Spotify. It is a part of my life. Just like reading the Scriptures, with worship songs I often hear what I needed to hear at that moment or it makes me realize other blessings in my life.






It is so hard to just trim my favorite worship songs to just 10!  So I asked my husband and our girls for their opinion. Here's our 10 worship songs that will surely lift your spirit.

1.The Garden by Kari Jobe
2.Broken Vessel by Hillsong United
3.Lift Me Up by The Afters
4.Eye of the Storm by Ryan Stevenson
5.Trust In You by Lauren Daigle
6.Mended by Matthew West
7.Speak Life by Toby Mac
8.Oceans by Hillsong United
9.Stronger By Mandisa
10.Chain Breaker by Zach Williams




“THE GARDEN” CD 

Grammy nominated Kari Jobe is the premiere female worship leader in Christian music. Coming off her last live album, Majestic, which featured the worship anthem “Forever” and radio hit “I Am Not Alone," Kari Jobe has returned to the studio to record her new album, The Garden, full of brand new worship anthems for the church and for personal reflection. Finding inspiration from life’s joys and hardships, Kari leans into the firm foundation of Christ through it all.



About Kari Jobe
 A trusted friend to listeners throughout a career that includes more than 1 million albums sold, a GRAMMY® nomination, multiple Dove Awards and praise from the New York Times. She’s amassed 173 million career streams and is the most-followed female CCM artist on social media with a following that exceeds 3.5 million. Beyond the stats, Jobe’s timeless songs have carried countless listeners to the feet of Christ over and over again. Her voice has become a soundtrack to people’s lives, and The Garden is well-equipped to bring healing in the midst of pain.

 SOCIAL LINKS




Twitter GIVEAWAY


 G I V E A W A Y  T I M E

Only one entrant per mailing address, per giveaway. If you have won a prize from our sponsor Propeller /FlyBy Promotions in the last 30 days on the same blog, you are not eligible to win. Or if you have won the same prize on another blog, you are not eligible to win it again. Winner is subject to eligibility verification.

ENTER NOW






Saturday, January 21, 2017

Have Fun at Medieval Times

We recently celebrated my mom's extra special birthday. Why extra special? It's been years since I was able to celebrate her birthday WITH HER. She is visiting from Philippines . While we were blessed to be able to go home last 2014 and then again last year , we weren't given the opportunity to celebrate her special day. Now that she will be spending a few months with us,her birthday is on the top of our list. To make it fun and memorable . Our girls are beyond excited to celebrate their Grandma's birthday.

My husband and I kept the secret of where we are all going to celebrate. What we told them was we were going to a new place that we have not gone before. A new experience for all of us! Rob and I are also thrilled. We have heard only good things about Medieval Times Dinner Tournament. Truth be told, I always wanted to visit and try ever since. Every time we are in Buena Park, we passed by Medieval Times , the eagerness to experience it builds up. So when I was given the chance to review and VISIT Medieval Times...I certainly did a happy dance.





I tweeted my excitement before our visit and Medieval Times people..do respond. They do make you feel that your visit is anticipated, just right there you know that the customer service will be great.  When we arrived, expect a line however, the lines moves pretty quickly. You will greeted with smiling and friendly staff wearing Medieval times costumes ( and  expect the cute accent) and be taken back to the Medieval period.

We wore paper King Hats to indicate color or "teams". You will also have a choice to have some photo opp with a Medieval period princess! My girls are excited to wear the crowns too.

Me and the Mr. How do you like our crowns?


Expect a crowd when you get inside. There is a large waiting/hanging out area and a bar area. There are plenty of tables and chairs. My mom uses a cane so having a whole lot of chairs and table is a plus. We were also approached by a guy who works there ( my bad, I forgot his name) he offered to take my mom in first when the doors open because of her cane. That folks is just awesome!!


While we were waiting for the show and dinner , we took a look around and got excited to show the horses to our kids. They are beautiful and I think that is cool because we were able to use it as a point of discussion and learning for our girls. All kids love animals! My husband bought flags too, totally optional. It will be a souvenir too.


Even if there is a waiting time , time quickly went by. We were there an hour before the dinner and tournament , the entertainment does not just start when the gates open.  There will be some announcements, reminders and laughs.


 As soon as the gates open, we were all impressed by how big the place is!  Inside those walls, you will travel back into Medieval Spain. We were seated according to color. I will not give you all the details just because it is a MUST VISIT place. I can assure you though that the 4 coarse meal is so good! A lot of food if you ask me BUT they do give out to go boxes.



My family totally enjoyed the show too!! You will cheer and will be impressed with the two hours of jousting-packed action as you watch the  resident knights fight for the honorable title of the King’s Champion.  Be prepared to get messy! You will eat with your hands from the delicious meal.


Here's a few pictures from our fun visit :


All of us with a happy belly. 


Right after the show, we picked up a souvenir for our fun experience. Our girls asked when can we go back again. Thankfully, Medieval Times offers discounts and promotions.

Here's a special offer for my readers, grab it now!

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

Coffee Chili Rubbed Chicken

This post contains affiliate links, please read full disclosure HERE

I am a spice junkie. I have a drawer full of spices and herbs. Probably , a hoarder of spices. Last week I spent 45 minutes cleaning out our pantry and drawers. I am not surprise to find expired bottles of spices ( yikes! ). I also love to mix my own seasoning and spices. Homemade spices are awesome if you ask me. You can control the sodium content and it is budget friendly to boot. However , if you are not an "experimental" cook..like me, Rawspice Bar is an excellent way of getting superb flavor ANNND fresh spices and herbs.

Each monthly subscription includes recipes cards BUT you can always change it up to whatever is in your pantry already. That's also one of the many things I love about Rawspice Bar , the spices are not out of this world. I got fresh packets of flavorful spices and I was able to make 3 dishes out of it.

How does it work?

Sign up and receive 3 freshly ground, recipe-ready flavor kits, direct to your door each month. Add your own local, fresh ingredients to cook 3 globally inspired meals for 3-4 people. Plus, personalize your recipes with their Flavor Profile Quiz after you sign up!


 


 
Ingredients:

3 Boneless chicken breast
1 Rawspice Bar's Coffee-Chili Rubbed Steak Spice
3 tbsp olive oil
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper


Directions:

Spread the olive oil on a 9x13 glass baking dish . Sprinkle the spice on top of it and mix.


 Pat the chicken dry and place it on top of the spices and oil mixture. Make sure that the marinade is spread all over the chicken. Cover and let it marinade for about an hour.


Bake on pre heated ( 350 degrees) oven. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until no longer pink.


Awesomely simple and full flavor!


Serve with Chipotle Salt Roasted Yams





Ingredients:

2 large yams
2-3 tbsp olive oil
1 Rawspicebar Chipotle Smoke Salt Spice

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees . Cut them yams into cubes.


Line a cookie sheet with aluminum foil. Spread the cubed yams and pour olive oil, spreading the oil all over the yams. Sprinkle the spices all over the yams. 


Roast for about 20 minutes or until tender.


Right amount of sweetness and saltiness!



What are you waiting for?

SIGN UP, HERE.


Rawspice Bar - Spice Subscription




Shared with these amazing LINK UPS and BLOG HOPS






Monday, January 16, 2017

Cheesy Sun-Dried Tomato Pizza Pasta

 This post contains affiliate links, please read full disclosure HERE.

Between work , carpools, school , extra curricular activities and family fun , I am sure that as a mom meal planning is always on your mind. What to serve for breakfast , lunch and dinner. Not to mention, school lunches. I am always on the hunt for easy weekday meals. Pizza and pasta may not always win the most the healthiest food category but it is definitely one of my family's favorites. Besides, who does not love pizza and pasta!

This recipe is flat out delicious! I used Rawspicebar's Sun-Dried Pizza Sauce and Pizza recipe. However, I used it on a pasta instead. What I love about this recipe is that you can make the sauce before hand. Making it ahead ( maybe on weekends) will save you time during the busy week days. The sauce is so tasty, you can not just use it as a pizza sauce but also as a pasta sauce or a dipping sauce. One of the things that I certainly love about the Monthly Spice Box is that recipe cards are included. So when you are not in a "experimental mood" you can follow the recipe given. I have previously written a review about RawSpice Bar ( recipes included), you can read it HERE.

The portion sizes of the spices are all perfect. Recipes are NOT hard to follow at all. If you love to eat out  and you are always open for new taste, why not try the monthly spice subscription.




Ingredients:

1 RawspiceBar's Sun-Dried Tomato Pizza Spices
1 14.5oz tomato sauce
1 6oz tomato paste
2 garlic cloves , minced
1 small onion, chopped
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp  dried basil
1 tsp dried oregano
 2 tsp sugar
Salt and pepper
1 package 3.5oz oz Turkey pepperoni
2 cups medium cheddar cheese
1 8oz Fit N Active wholewheat spaghetti noodles, or any brand.
2 eggs
1/4 cup low fat milk
1/2 cup Parmesan cheese

Directions:

Pre heat oven to 375 degrees.
Cook spaghetti noodles according to package instructions. Drain.
Heat a medium size sauce pan with olive oil. Add in RawSpiceBar's Sun-Dried Tomato Pizza Sauce Spice. Saute onion until translucent , add garlic. Cook until golden brown. Add the diced tomatoes and tomato paste. Add in dried basil and oregano. Add sugar to balance acidity.


Let it simmer for 15-20 minutes. Add salt and pepper to taste. Set the sauce aside.


In a bowl, beat the eggs. Pour milk and add the Parmesan cheese.


Grease a 9x13 glass pan.  Add the cooked noodles in and pour the egg mixture. Mix until combined.


Pour the sun-dried tomato pizza sauce over the noodles, top with half of the pepperoni. Sprinkle cheese on top and top with the rest of the pepperoni.


Bake the pasta for 25 minutes or until golden brown and the cheese melts.


Let it cool and serve with your favorite bread sticks! You can never go wrong with pizza and spaghetti. best of two worlds if you ask me.



Sign up and receive 3 freshly ground, recipe-ready flavor kits, direct to your door each month. Add your own local, fresh ingredients to cook 3 globally inspired meals for 3-4 people. Plus, personalize your recipes with our Flavor Profile Quiz after you sign up!

To sign up for RawSpicebar's monthly spice box , JOIN HERE

Monthly Spice Box from Rawspicebar









Shared with these amazing LINK UPS and BLOG HOPS

Saturday, December 3, 2016

Fun Day at Madame Tussauds

We've been running around and hitting some great places during the last couple weeks of October. We are blessed to have family visit us , my sister and mom from Philippines. With my sister , who is only going to stay with us here for two weeks,we did some crazy but fun sight seeing and trips! We crammed as many places to see as we can. Of course , if you go see Southern California..you should not miss Hollywood.

Before I moved here to the United States ( some 15 years ago), I  dreamed about seeing Hollywood and was always in awe of all the celebrities!  Truth be told though, we live about 2 hrs away from Los Angeles /Hollywood area, traffic is not fun even though we went on a weekday. I suggest giving yourself a whole lot of extra time so you can enjoy more of what Hollywood has to offer.


 




It wasn't my first time in Hollywood but it never fails to entertain me.We parked over at Dolby Theater and my goodness, I love all the stores. Right off the bat in Hollywood blvd., I was already entertained with all the people who are dressed in costume. It is very close and similar to the character they are portraying.


 What better way to start the tour in Hollywood and some of  LA, than stopping for a fun tour at Madame Tussauds! 


We were greeted by these lovely, accommodating and friendly staff! 


As soon as you exit from the elevator, you will be greeted by Ryan Reynolds! Excuse us while we dream...


Hello....It's us ..Adelle.  Sorry...just had to say it.


Team Taylor it is! Granting she was wearing heels, still this girl is awesomely tall and slender. Each wax celebrity was accurately made including their height and physique.


I seriously got star strucked by Charlize Theron. Every freckle, mole , wrinkle and dimple are also meticulously and accurately made. Including any tattoos! Sculptors work very closely with the stars, so every measurement needs to be accurate!


It takes 330 pounds of clay to sculpt a standard figure. I love how you are able to touch them or pose with them.


As you can see my hubs did enjoy his photo opp...


We did too! It was such a fun day...


Meet Madame Marie Tussaud . Millions and millions of people have flocked through the doors of Madame Tussauds since they first opened over 200 years ago and it remains just as popular as it ever was.

Here's some historical timeline about Madame Tussauds: 

1761 Madame Tussaud is born Marie Grosholtz in Strasbourg.
1777 Marie models the famous author and philosopher, Francois Voltaire.
1780 Marie becomes art tutor to King Louis XVI’s sister and goes to live at the Royal Court in Versailles.
1789 On the eve of The French Revolution, Marie returns to Paris.
1793 Marie is imprisoned with her mother in the notorious Laforce Prison,Paris. On her release she is forced to prove her allegiance to the Revolution by making death masks of executed nobles and her former employers, the King and Queen.
1794 The French Revolution ends and Marie inherits Dr Philippe Curtius’ wax exhibition.
1795 Marie marries Fran├žois Tussaud.
1802 Madame Tussaud takes her exhibition on tour to the British Isles, leaving behind her husband. 1835 With her sons, Madame Tussaud establishes a base in London at ‘The Baker Street Bazaar.’ 1846 Punch Magazine coins the name Chamber Of Horrors for Madame Tussaud’s ‘Separate Room’, where gruesome relics of the French Revolution are displayed.
1850 Madame Tussaud dies.


1884 Marie’s grandsons move the attraction to its current site on Marylebone Road.
1925 The attraction is devastated by fire.
1928 Restoration is completed with the addition of a cinema and restaurant.
1940 Madame Tussauds is struck by a German World War II bomb destroying
352 head molds, and the cinema.
1972 The second European Madame Tussauds attraction opens in Amsterdam, the Netherlands.
1999 The first American Madame Tussauds opens in Las Vegas.
2000 The second American Madame Tussauds attraction opens in New York, and the same year Madame Tussauds opens in Hong Kong.
2006 Madame Tussauds opens in Shanghai.
2007 The third American attraction opens in Washington DC.
2008 The third European site becomes Berlin, where the attraction opens in ‘Unter den Linden’.
2009 The fourth American site opens in Hollywood.
2010 Madame Tussauds Bangkok opens in December - the third attraction in Asia. 2011 Vienna (Austria) and Blackpool (UK) both open in April 2011 - the global count is now up to 12 attractions. 2011 Celebrating 250 Years!


Some fun facts:

It takes approximately  800 hours to make a standard figure.

to sculpt a figure             350 hours
mold a figure                   175 hours
insert hair and hair style  145 hours
make a pair of eyes          15 hours
make a set of teeth           30 hours
color a head                     50 hours
costume a figure              35 hours


If visiting Southern California is on your next travel list and if you have not been to Madame Tussauds yet, come and have fun with the wax figures! It was such a great experience and it will give you that dreamy feeling that one had come very close to a celebrity. 



 SOCIAL CORNER

Follow Madame Tussauds for the latest news , tickets and deals



Shared with these amazing LINK UPS AND BLOG HOPS