Showing posts with label Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Reviews. Show all posts

Saturday, December 9, 2017

Give the Gift of Experience: Battleship Iowa

Battleship IOWA is the West Coast’s only Battleship open to the public. Operated by the non-profit Pacific Battleship Center (PBC), the IOWA opened on July 7, 2012 as an interactive naval museum at the L.A. Waterfront. It is dedicated to “Celebrating the American Spirit” through the preservation and interpretation of the Battleship IOWA. By sharing the accomplishments and sacrifices of American patriots and engaging visitors in unique and exciting ways PBC brings the ship to life by connecting the past with the present and future (Battleship USS Iowa, n.d.).



The Battleship IOWA Museum is a Top 10 regional attraction, consistently rated a must-visit museum, and rated one of the "Best Cool Exhibits to See With Your Kids" by CBS Los Angeles. Your self-guided adventure highlights life at sea for thousands of sailors over the past 70 years, while interacting with numerous exhibits through the National Battleship Museum and using our state of the art award-winning interactive tour app. Children can follow our clever mascot dog named Victory on a popular scavenger hunt. Known as the Battleship of Presidents, USS Iowa is located at the former home to the US Navy Pacific fleet and an area rich in maritime history.



EDUCATION AND FUN 

Camp Battleship: a youth overnight program that begins with a STEAM introduction tour, dinner, evening activity, and sleeping in the actual bunks that sailors used during IOWA's last commissioning. Continue to enjoy the ship in the morning with breakfast in the mess decks and time in our ship's store. Camp Battleship guests continue to rave about the fun they have on board the ship!

Youth STEM Education & School Tour Programs: A field trip to Battleship IOWA presents an array of entirely novel stimuli to the student. The features of a battleship compel their attention as it confronts them with features unprecedented in their experience. Most student visitors have never been aboard a ship of any type, much less a vintage WWII warship. They walk through President Roosevelt's private cabin, and climb to the Admiral's Bridge for an unmatched seven-story vista of their historic maritime village. They participate in a STEAM (science, technology, engineering, arts, and math) experience coupled with history creating a well-rounded educational event.

https://www.pacificbattleship.com



Tuesday, December 5, 2017

Strengthening Family Time

Life has a way of shifting our focus. Often times we do not intend it to happen, we just lose focus on what is really important. We are orn between our work, church , family time, chores and family responsibilities. This is what you would commonly hear from parents. Family time is important. Raising a happy and well-rounded children takes an intentional and purposeful time.  Our interconnected web of relationship via social media are well estabished. In fact, the average time spent on social media is nine hours a day (Asano, 2017). Nine hours a day...let that sink in.

How much do we spend quality and interactive time with our family. The family right in front us. I once read a quote that says.." the most meaningful conversation you will have are from the ones right in fron of you".  Quality, purposeful, intentional and interactive time with our family is essential. For kids, they feel loved and important, for older kids, they will feel a sense of belonging. Parents can destress too just by spending time, making positive memories with the whole family.  How do we strengthen family time? Here's a few tip on how we can strengthen and bond with your family.

Note: There is a product recommendation at the below. Please know that I will not recommend a product that I do not believe in. I did receive the product for free to review and try with my family. Regardless of the recommendation, I stand by the importance of strenthening family time.

1. Ask every member of the family what is their idea of family fun. Start by asking them with ideas that doesn't cost money.
2. Do not bring your work to your home.
3. Eat dinner together.
4. When you have to get chores and errands done, make it a family affair.
5. Schedule dates. Movie nights at home are inexpensive.
6. Saying no to commitments to prioritize family time.
7. Cook or bake together.
8. Log off at 7pm. Unplug and put your cellphones away.
9. Schedule blocks of time for chores or your to do list. Set a timer.
10. Go to church together.





 About Family Honor Plate
Step #1 MOM AND DAD - BE THE EXAMPLE. BE THE ROLE-MODEL:
The virtues are listed in the center of the plate for mom and dad to use as their anchor, their moral compass to guide them in how they need to show up for and to their children. This is how our children learn what character (Christ's Character) is, what it looks like, what it feels like. Our children are watching us and learning from us.
Step #2 BE ON THE LOOKOUT:
 Look for the good choices and attitude your kids/spouse are making and showing throughout the day. Track it back to the virtues and character it shows.
Step #3 CELEBRATE THEIR CHARACTER:
Turn dinnertime into a celebration when you catch someone making good choices and showing good character and present their meal on the FAMILY HONOR PLATE. This is when you: · Talk about the choices they made and the virtues and character that it showed (Be specific). Talk about how they made everyone involved feel and the impact they had on people and how that is POWERFUL and BEAUTIFUL.


Included in the box:
Ceramic Family Honor Plate to be painted by YOU!
8 Vibrant USA-made enamel paints
3 Paint brushes
1 Painter's palette
1 Plate stand
Bonus Pack of Sample Table Thyme Discussion Starters
Online Support through Parenting and Instructional videos created to encourage and support you.

TABLE THYME DISCUSSION CARDS



     Every question is followed up with "Why?" to take everyone's answers to a deeper more intimate level. That's where the magic is and the real conversation starts. So now when even a simple question such as..."What is your favorite dessert?" for example, rather than someone answering "Apple Pie" and then moving on to the next person, the whole family gets to walk down memory lane because it reminds them of Grandma Smith who always made apple pies with them when they came to visit." Her house always smelled of fresh baked pies and she gave the best hugs when we walked in the door." Communication is the key to connecting, building and maintaining healthy relationships. When we are raise our children to be confident in their ability to communicate with others and get their point across, situations are less stressful and they have better outcomes.


 Meet Michelle, the loving mama on a mission: 



To purchase the products: SEE HERE.



Sunday, December 3, 2017

Why is Child Evangelism Important

Do you believe that children are the most important part of a church? They have the most innocent,  open and pure heart. Delilo of International Network of child Ministry said , "What is rooted in the heart of a child is almost impossible to uproot in the life of an adult". I truly believe that statement. I have mentioned in a blog post,  The Importance of Life-giving Words to our Children, how important it is to speak life in our children. How we speak , becomes their inner voice. 

It is also known how Jesus Christ loves little children. You can read the book of  Matthew 19:14. I invite you to read it and reflect on that. The little children are important and loved by Jesus, those little children that makes us tired, grumpy at times and can push us to our limit. I am telling you all of this real mom feelings because first they are normal, parents are NOT perfect. Second, I understand that in the midst of hard parenting, we are also tasked to help them develop into decent human being. My question for you is, "What and who exactly do you want your children to become"?




Me and my husband's answer will be: We want our children to grow up to know and love God. We want our children to know the reason why Jesus came and the message of His death. We want them to make mistakes and learn from it. We want our children to understand grace, forgiveness and courage. We want them to excel in whatever their hearts desire. We want to lead by example and not conformity. In fact, I can go on and on. 

As parents, Child evangelism starts in your own home. You can also pay attention to how your church handles their resources with their children ministry. 

"When you look at most churches–their programming, their staff, and their budgets–it appears that children must first become prodigals, then we will go about putting together elaborate programs and events to save them" -- Damon DeLilo (INCM).

You can have devotional nights before they go to bed. You can the importance of family devotionals HERE. During Summer, you can sign them up for Vacation Bible School. Give books, devotionals, toys that lead them to the Lord.  If your child loves play dates, invite and reach out, have a craft night. Pinterest has a plethora of Bible-based crafts. Most importantly, let us strive to lead by example. Trust me, I know it is not easy. This is by far, the hardest part I think. Just take comfort knowing that you will not be alone on this journey. Parenting is not a single parent job, not even a two parent job. In my household it is three..me, my husband and the Lord. In raising our children, there are things that we are not in control, things that we can not understand and things that we can not change. Only God can.

Note: This is a product recommendation and I received a product in exchange for my honest review. Please know that I will NOT recommend any products that does not adhere to our values and beliefs. The links from Let the Children Come are NOT an affiliate links, however the Amazon links from other blog post are affiliate links.

Here's an amazing child evangelism tool. This fun and interactive way to share the gospel with kids will surely entertain them.  Let The Little Children Come aims to provide effective gospel tracts and evangelism tools and resources for children. It is the hope that these tools and resources will help you in conveying the powerful gospel message to children. the gospel tracts are all specially designed to capture and hold the attention of children, while not distracting them from the core message of salvation through Jesus Christ.







Disclosure (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”): Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing a sample for review. Opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. While I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review, I stand by the importance of child evangelism and ways to reach out to them.


Don't forget to pin and share!





Saturday, December 2, 2017

The Stable Cat's Christmas and a GIVEAWAY

Teaching our kids what Christmas is all about is a hard job at this age. Commercialism is rampant. As soon as the Halloween is over, Christmas related products are already popping out in the stores. We tell our kids that we are a "one holiday at a time" family. It is easy to get carried away in the hustle and bustle of the Christmas season. While all the kids know the story of the birth of our Savior, as parents how do we spread the message of Christmas.

Last, 2015 I had shared 15 Charities That Help Support Children .I think that it is important to share and bless others, most especially to unfortunate kids.  I had also shared ,To the Momma Who Can't Afford Christmas,  sometimes it is not only when we "have" that we tend to forget about giving but also when we faced scarcity. The Stable Cat's Christmas is a really good reminder that just when you think you do not have anything to offer, you will be surprised that you can actually give something to honor Jesus Christ.

Here's our 8 year old, enjoying the book.


 I aksed her how did she liked the book, she answered: Mommy, its a two thumbs up. And she continued to tell me the whole story and how much she likes how the cat helped Jesus.




About the book:
Publication Date: October 3, 2017
Author/Illustrator: Christina S. Vrba/Gail Yerrill
Price: $16.99
Format: Jacketed hardcover
Page Count: 32 Ages: 4–7

About the Author:

 Christina S. Vrba lives and works in northwestern Connecticut. When not spinning tales, Christina loves poking about in comic book shops and the children’s sections of bookstores, spending time with her husband and son, and caring for her personal menagerie of creatures, including dogs, cats, gerbils, and two much-loved goldfish.

About the Illustrator:

Gail Yerrill lives in a village in Bedfordshire, England with her husband, two children, and two very naughty-but-cute cats. After earning her degree in 1998, she became a freelance illustrator and designer of greeting cards and gift wrap for Marks & Spencers, and has also illustrated items for Harrods and the BBC among others. She has illustrated many books for well-known publishers, several of which are translated into many languages. Gail is known for her soft, whimsical style which is loved by children and adults alike.

About the Publisher:

Worthy Publishing Group is a privately held, independent voice in inspirational publishing, based in Nashville, TN. Worthy includes five distinct imprints: Worthy Books publishes inspirational works addressing spiritual growth, biblical study, faith and culture, biography, fiction, and specialty Bibles; Museum of the Bible Books is a partnership between Worthy and the Museum, publishing books that reveal the history, narrative, and impact of the Bible; Ellie Claire produces beautifully crafted journals, gifts, and paper expressions; Worthy Inspired publishes felt-need, spiritual growth, inspirational, and devotional books; and WorthyKids/Ideals creates colorful, interactive children’s books, including VeggieTales and Berenstain Bears, for ages 2 to 8.


Disclosure (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”): Many thanks to WorthyKids/Ideals for providing a prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post.


Monday, November 27, 2017

Top 5 Devotionals for Teens and a GIVEAWAy

While I do enjoy getting silly and fun gifts, I am a very practical person. I do not get offended when I receive a box of new dishes or mini appliances. In fact, I had to explain to my husband how it is really not a big deal. Apparently, some people take offense into receiving practical gifts.

Devotionals, bibles, inspirational books and journals are right up my alley. Since I do love them, I also enjoy giving devotionals and Bibles as a gift. Feeding the soul and leading people to the Lord, in my opinion, are one of the most important goals a person can have. I have compiled five of my favorite devotionals for teens, hopefully, to guide you in your gift-buying.








For girls, ages 8 and up. Filled with 128 pages of inspiring images and patterns to color and God's word. In this 60-day coloring devotional,  you will read about God’s unchanging promises through NIV Bible verses. What I love about this coloring devotional is that each page is printed on high-quality, thick paper stock that won’t bleed through.


Teens are also busy beings. This devotional will fit into their schedule. Time will never be a hindrance into connecting into God's word.  The Once-a-Day Devotional for Teens  presents a 365 devotions written with teens in mind, and  the reading plan focuses on the entire Bible. It contains tools such as daily verse and topic, a prayer, and options for further reading. Teens can dig deeper into the Bible and understand how they ca apply God's teachings into their everyday lives.




Even grown-ups struggle with the real image of who we are and what we want to be. We often do not like what we in the mirror and we are our own critic. It is just the same for teen girls. It can be much more difficult to recognize, celebrate, and grow the special, inner and outer qualities that make up who you really are. With this devotional, God will challenge your teen to push past what the world says about being beautiful and instead discover your true image, your true gifts, and your true strengths in God’s eyes―things that go beyond outer beauty and explore who you really are inside. Based on the popular True Images Bible, the True Images Devotional features ninety, brand-new daily devotions on anxiety, bullying, body image, and more, as well as relevant Bible verses and prayers. Discover how God truly sees you and how the decisions and actions you make every day can help shape who you are, so you can become the person you were created to be.


Revolution Devotional

Can teens really change the world? Of course, they can. They can make a difference starting from home, their school and community. This devotional provides the best tools to become a revolutionary for  God. Pact with daily Bible verse, followed by a short devotional about the character in that verse. This devotional is heavy on the Bible lessons BUT light in the sense that it can make your teen laugh out loud as it contains hilarious list pertaining to the topic.


Adored
For ages 13 and up, each day features an easy-to-read, relevant devotion paired with a scripture verse and journaling space to help readers reflect on the day’s message. The book tackles tough topics girls face, from bullying and social media to friendships and dating, all the while showing readers how infinitely precious they are in God’s sight.






Disclosure (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”): Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post. Only one entrant per mailing address, per giveaway. If you have won a prize from our sponsor Propeller /FlyBy Promotions in the last 30 days on the same blog, you are not eligible to win. Or if you have won the same prize on another blog, you are not eligible to win it again. Winner is subject to eligibility verification.




Win a copy of Adored Devotional! ENTER NOW!


Don't forget to pin and share! 

Wednesday, November 22, 2017

Bible Journaling and a Giveaway

   When friends ask me how do I do it all? My answer, " coffee and Jesus. Lots of coffee for sure. Jesus? Not as much as I want. Truthfully, in my ideal world, I would love to start my day reading the Bible. It's just the right way to start your day, to feed the soul. However, I do forget, and I get lost in the daily busy grind. It is a working progress believe me. I always remember what our Pastor said about putting Jesus in our lives. Too often, we think of it as a checklist. Drink coffee (check), Get ready for the day (check), read devotional ( check), pray (check). A checklist that needs to get done and it should not be that way. If we want Jesus in our lives, put Him in the center of our lives. In the core of our daily grind and in everything we do. What happens is that we pray and read His Word in the morning and forget His teachings all day. His Words deeply rooted in our parenting, when we drive to work and school or when we serve. His Word when we cannot draw a string of patience anymore, His Word when we feel like giving up. His Word when we are happy and His Word when we are depleted.




     One of the ways that I love and enjoy doing is Bible Journaling. Let me tell you that you do not have to own the fanciest coloring or art supplies. You do not have to hold the most expensive Bible, and you do not need to be so artistic to start journaling. All you need to have is an excellent listening heart. When you journal or doodle (for some), you reflect on His Word. You listen to what He is trying to tell you. It is your quiet time with Him. I do not specifically have a list for you to follow. My advice is that: You do what you feel like is right for you, do it in ways where you can benefit more. I do not always draw or color my Bible, sometimes I just highlight. I color code my highlighted verses. You can use Good morning Girl's coloring chart.


If you are wanting to get some supplies , below are a few of my recommendations. Remember that you do not need  to purchase them. A crayola colored pencils will also do a great job.  





The ESV Illuminated Bible 

The ESV Illuminated Bible places the full ESV text alongside over 500 elegantly hand-lettered gold ink illustrations by renowned artist Dana Tanamachi. Printed on thick cream-colored paper, the Bible's single-column text setting and wide margins provide generous space for additional notes, prayers, and designs—inviting readers to creatively engage with and reflect on the beauty of God's Word.



Why is the ESV Illuminated Bible perfect for journaling?
  •  9-point, Lexicon
  •  Black letter text 
  •  2-color printing
  •  64 full-page, custom book opener illustrations 
  •  50 full-page verse illustrations 
  •  250+ hand-lettered margin verses 
  •  100+ other illustrations throughout 
  •  Illustrated by Dana Tanamachi, whose work has been featured by Google, The Wall Street  Journal, Random House, USPS, and Target 
  • Thick, cream-colored paper 
  • Wide margins 
  • Single-column, paragraph format
  • Smyth-sewn binding
  • Packaging: Permanent Slipcase 

About the artist:


 Dana Tanamachi is an American lettering artist, graphic designer, and illustrator whose exquisite typographic murals ignited the worldwide chalk-lettering trend. She has been commissioned by clients such as Instagram, Target, Google, Time Magazine, Nike, and West Elm. Learn more at tanamachistudio.com



Watch an inspiring video of Dana and how the ESV Illuminated was made.




Disclosure (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”): Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post. Only one entrant per mailing address, per giveaway. If you have won a prize from our sponsor Propeller /FlyBy Promotions in the last 30 days on the same blog, you are not eligible to win. Or if you have won the same prize on another blog, you are not eligible to win it again. Winner is subject to eligibility verification.




GIVEAWAY CLOSED
 -----> Winner: Yamina F. of Loma Linda, CA  <-----



Don't forget to pin and share! 


Sunday, November 12, 2017

The Star Movie

Can you believe it? Christmas right around the corner! Truthfully, we are a "one holiday" at a time kinda family. We celebrate Thanksgiving and we move on to Christmas. It's just the way we like it, however we still spread the same message to our girls. The message of thankfullness, for God's love. We usually, give thanks to all the material and tangible things or the family, friends we see. We sometimes forget to thank Him, for the greatest gift of all.

This movie, THE STAR conveys the story of Christmas in a whole new light. From the animal's perspective! We watches the trailer and our girls are so excited to see the movie.The animation looks great and we look forward into enjoying the movie while learning the story of Christmas through- a small and brave donkey's eyes.





THE STAR MOVIE

 In Sony Pictures Animation's The Star, a small but brave donkey named Bo yearns for a life beyond his daily grind at the village mill. One day he finds the courage to break free, and finally goes on the adventure of his dreams. On his journey, he teams up with Ruth, a loveable sheep who has lost her flock and Dave, a dove with lofty aspirations. Along with three wisecracking camels and some eccentric stable animals, Bo and his new friends follow the Star and become unlikely heroes in the greatest story ever told - the first Christmas

SOCIAL CORNER

Watch the TRAILER HERE

Meet the CHARACTERS
Visit their fun ANIMATED COLORING BOOK

Nationwide release from Sony Affirm on November 17th, from the producer of Heaven is for Real and Miracles from Heaven.



Buy your tickets HERE.


 Tweet and share!!

 

Tuesday, November 7, 2017

Busy Mom's Guide To Healthy Eating

     I think I have shared on a couple of instances that I am in my graduate school. I decided to pursue my Master's degree, and it was a goal that I wrote way back when our youngest daughter was a baby. I saw my old journal, and while I do not graduate until 2019, I was ecstatic to check that off the list. It has been in the back of mind, and I always hesitate even to inquire. Our youngest one is now in Kindergarten, and I felt a strong will that the time has come to pursue that goal. Starting to inquire..which school was course...is another battle. BUT... I am proud of myself for taking that first step. I am also fortunate to have a very supportive husband, who assured me that I could do this along with the busy season of our lives and raising our kids.

     No matter how I have prepared myself mentally for how things can get crazy hectic ...I still get overwhelmed. These are the top things that consumed my mind and how I tackled them( and always trying to improve).

1. I will not be as involved in my kid's education as I used to be and will not have quality family time
Well, I am now able to volunteer at both of our girl's school. I am fortunate that I was able to pick and choose the days and time that I can volunteer in their classroom. I can still guide them with their homework if I can not...my husband is as happy as I am to help our kids with their homework. It is just about scheduling and planning.I do not read any textbook and do the research paper (not unless it's an absolute must) on weekends.

2. Keeping up with chores
Moms and wives are terrible at asking help and settling with the support they get. If you don't have any problems with I  have mentioned, good for you! Sometimes, we expect the people around us to guess and read our minds. Ask help! I know do...even our little ones at home. A seven-year-old and a five-year-old can help. Trust me; you will be surprised how much this can free your time.  We came up with our chore system, (which I will share soon) and I love it!

3. Healthy Eating
I stress about this...all the time. I am a frugal mom, and I just find it hard to shop without menu planning and a list. I kid you not when you are in school, raising your own family and keeping up with everything, this is one department that will inevitably be affected. This is where Personal Trainer Food became a blessing!



Disclaimer: I did receive a complimentary plan to review this product. Please be assured that I will only offer my honest opinion and review. I also participate in amazon affiliate program, I earn a small commission when products are purchased through links. It is my coffee pot fund..so thank you!



What exactly is PERSONAL TRAINER FOOD?



Do not be put off with their tagline. I know, because that was my first thought. Small waist? Personal trainer food is a meal delivery system. Pre-portioned, healthy meals delivered right to your door.  If you want to lose weight and do not know where to start or just do not have the time. This meal plan and food delivery are for you. Weight loss is more about what you eat. Eating less and moving more. Meal planning can be overwhelming, and Personal Trainer Food has different meal plans to choose from.


1. REV Rapid Weight Loss Women's Program

2. Two meals a day ( breakfast and lunch)

3.Three Meals a day (breakfast, lunch, and dinner)

4. You Choose (breakfast, lunch, snack, and dinner)


     If you want to lose weight, just follow their very simple weight loss plan. How simple? No calorie counting, no points counting, no additional ingredients to buy and nothing to cook from scratch. Nada! All the food are pre-cooked, impressive in taste, gourmet-style food. You might wonder ...well..frozen food is not healthy and does not taste good. This is where I come in.


I loved the Personal Trainer Food because:


 I am a busy mom, and I still want to eat healthy meals. I am also a frugal mom, and I know this delivery service does not seem economical by all means. However, there are days after days where we just can not cook. We get tired. We can't shop. There are days where I can not even meal plan. That's life. If we are honest with ourselves..we just can not pull a June Cleaver lifestyle every single time. Instead of hitting the drive-through for fast food, I prefer Personal Trainer Food.
The meals are not just for me too! Our girls, ages seven and five have tried and loved it too. We ordered the 28 days (lunch and dinner). My husband loved it as well. And here's some of the things , I also love to share with you all:

1. My husband and I are were impressed with their frozen vegetables. Truth be told, we are expecting a soggy and sad veggies. To our delight, the vegetables are fresh and not soggy at all. Believe me when I say, that their bagged and frozen veggies are way better than the store-bought frozen veggie bags.



2. Each packed meal, has heating instructions on it. However, microwaves do vary. I overcooked the pork ribs and it turned very rubbery. I suggest to cook it less than the time specified and play it from there.



3. If you get bored with the meals, you can get creative. I used the cooked rotiseerrie chicken for my alfredo pasta! It was so tasty and my husband said it was by far the best alfredo pasta I made. The chicken is tender and full of flavor. Just be mindful that if you get creative and trying to loose weight..this alters your weight loss plan. As always, you can always use wholesome ingredients or moderation.

4. Their sauces and the garlic butter ....awesomely delish! Our eldest daughter can not get enough of the garlic butter. We used it with the veggies.



5. We ordered a bunch of hamburger patties. We bought hamburger buns and just added lettuce, tomato, cheese and mayo. You can skip that, the patty with romaine lettuce as the "bun" is also good!

6. They ship the same day. No hidden fees, contracts or auto-billing. Zilch!


Here's a few of the meals that we love!

The apple and gouda sausage


The Prime Rib Fajita


The Spicy Breaded Chicken Breast


The Rotisserie Chicken Breast


The Meatballs


Did I mentioned that you can mix and match your entress and veggie selection? The combinations are extensive!

Check theirwebsite and give Personal Trainer a try! Let me know what you think about it too. Also, this is a great Christmas gift as well. For your fitness fanatic friend and relative, the foodie dad and the mom that needs a long break from cooking (and does not mind the microwave heating).

Meal Prep


Don't forget to pin and share!






Monday, October 23, 2017

Maverick and Me: Review + Giveaway

     I still vividly remember the day I saw a white puppy at our parent's friends house. We were visiting my parent's house, and their dog just gave birth to these small, white and adorably cute puppies. I begged to have her. And just like any parents who believe that their kid is not ready to have a pet, my mama declined. It was until I was in high school when my sisters and I became "moms" of two St. Bernard pups. We named them Charles and Diana. We loved them like our kids. Charles and Diana died of natural causes, and it was devastating. The four of us cried, and we were sad. After that, we adopted another dog, and our pet family grew from there. I remember having five all at the same time. It was indeed a lot of work, but as a kid, those were the best times. That was one awesome part of my memories growing up.

     Now, that I am married and have two beautiful girls of our own, I still desire to have a family pet. A dog that our kids will grow up with and play with. Unfortunately, our living situation for now will not allow that. We live in a small and happy home with NO backyard. We just do not think it is feasible. However, I firmly believe that adopting a pet is in our future. If you are constricted because of your living situation or budget limitations, there are several ways to help and support your local animal shelter, which I have shared in this post.




This book, Maverick and Me is a colorful and value-filled material. Our eldest, enjoyed reading it and she now know that adopting a pet is honorable and is also a way of honoring God's creation. It is a teaching moment to be able to tell our girls how many animals, dogs and cat alike that needs a loving home. That loving and taking care of the animals is honoring God's creation.  Every page is full of engaging illustrations and simple words. Our five year old, understood the words that were used in the book. It engages their imagination and got excited when I old them the book, is based on a true story. Katherine Schwarzenegger's own rescue dog story.


8 Other Ways to Support Your Local Animal Shelter:

1. Volunteer - There is nothing as helpful as giving your time. Ask your local shelter if kids can tag along.
2. Spread the message and be an ambassador - Visit Humane Society's website and grab one of this to share on your social media accounts :


3. Donate pet food- If money and budget is an issue, hold an animal-food drive. There are also tons of coupons available from the Sunday newspaper.
4. Donate supplies - Donate supplies such as old towels, blankets and toys. Contact your local shelter for any supplies that they need the most.
.
Shop Amazon for pet supplies 



5. Share the idea of pet adoption- Be a constant ambassador. Even if you can't adopt, maybe you can direct other people who always want to adopt an animal but are not aware of the procedures.




About the book:

Publication Date: September 5, 2017
Author/Illustrator: Katherine Schwarzenegger/Phyllis Harris
ISBN: 9780824956875
Price: $16.99
Format: Jacketed Hardcover
Page Count: 32
Ages: 4-7

About the author:


Katherine Schwarzenegger is a New York Times bestselling author, lifestyle blogger, philanthropist, and ASPCA Ambassador. Katherine and the real Maverick live in California, where Katherine blogs about their adventures. Together, Maverick and Katherine spread a message of hope, defying all odds, and the joys of finding forever friends through pet rescue.

About the illustrator:
Phyllis Harris is a supporter of pet adoption and has adopted two dogs, Brandy and Cassie, over the years. She has been illustrating children’s books since 2001, including On Christmas Day by Margaret Wise Brown and My Mama & Me by Crystal Bowman & Teri McKinley. She lives in the Kansas City area with her husband.

Now, onto the GIVEAWAY!
 Disclosure: (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”): Many thanks to WorthyKids for providing this prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this honest review and post.



Don't forget to pin and share!